GOD INSPIRED ADVENTURE — THE WRITINGS OF MICK DAWSON

The fiction no one wanted

THE MISSIONARY – Chapter 8 – part 12

Leave a comment

“Is therre any dairnger?”

“No; not really. They have a built in AI for my protection, so unless someone attacks me; they won’t be a problem.”

“Good,” said Doctor. “We have a zero tolerance for violence in Haven.”

Brad liked Haven already.

Doctor opened her bag on the table.

“Now I have something that should numb the pain in your shoulder within a few hours.”

“That’s alright. I’ve got something that works right away.”

He went back into the bedroom and found the last banana lilly amongst his effects. On returning to the loungeroom, he squeezed a little of the sap onto his shoulder. Seconds later, he worked it in wide arcs.

“It’s alright now,” he said.

Doctor and Pastor looked unconvinced.

“Slap it as hard as you like, Doctor.”

“I can’t do that.”

Brad needed some way to prove the lilly’s affect.

“Pastor; do you trust me?”

He shrugged. “Yeah.”

“Put your hand on the table.”

Pastor did as asked, spreading his fingers. Brad squeezed a little of the thick fluid onto the back of his hand. Without warning, Brad extracted a claw and ran it across the flesh. It created a short rut in his skin, quickly welling and seeping blood.

Pastor smiled, clenching his fist and broke into laughter.

“It’s amazing, Doorcter. I don’t feel a thung.”

“Are you sure,” she said, leaning closer.

“Yeah.”

“I could use this for surgeries. Pastor, you’re the Agricultural Scientist. Do you think you could farm these?”

“I doon’t see why not.”

“Brad, do you know of plants that do anything else?”

He shrugged. “Yeah, lot’s of things; for sickness, infection…”

Doctor hugged him tightly, kissing his cheek.

“God sent you to us,” she said looking into his eyes. “Do you realise the changes you could make around here?”

He looked at her in daze, knowing she was right, but didn’t know how to respond.

“If you’re feeling up to it, I’d like you to come by my surgery tomorrow. We’ll discuss the different plants and their affects.”

Brad smiled. “Gladly.”

Pastor laughed, hugging him too.

“Well, I’ve got to go now,” said Doctor, closing her bag. “I’ll prep the lab tonight after the meeting.”

Pastor looked at Brad as he spoke.

“And tomorrow I’m going to help with tilling new plots for the herrbs.”

“Oh he’s not going tomorrow,” said Doctor. “Not with that shoulder.”

Pastor opened his mouth to protest.

“When it’s fully healed,” Doctor said firmly.

With a sheepish smile, Pastor shrugged.

“Thaat’s the way of it herre, Brard. Doorctor overrules everyone, including me on mairdical issues.”

Brad accepted the ruling, even though he found it unnecessary. Teyata had trained him to function even while enduring great amounts of pain.

“Well I’ll see you tomorrow then, Doctor,” he said.

She took up her bag and made it to the door.

“Oh could ya do us a wee favour, Doorctor?”

“What is it?”

“Riing the gathering plairce bell on ya way baack.”

She nodded and closed the door after herself.

Chapter 1Chapter 2Chapter 3Chapter 4Chapter 5Chapter 6Chapter 7Chapter 8

Author: mickdawson

I am a writer who never suffers from writer's block. My work is original in concept, thus telling me in both instances that God has gifted me. It is my hope that my work moves others. That those who read, might walk the lonely miles with the heroes; that they laugh and cry with them, and are also warmed by love. But there is also a greater hope. That those who read my work, see God's word in the adventures. More specifically that they find Jesus in the many pages and accept His free gift of salvation, already paid for on the cross.

Leave a Reply

