GOD INSPIRED ADVENTURE — THE WRITINGS OF MICK DAWSON

The fiction no one wanted

THE MISSIONARY – Chapter 10 – part 13

Leave a comment

He opened his eyes to see a little manog girl wearing a blue dress with ruffled hems. She couldn’t have been more than five. Her eyes had a serene quality. As hard as he tried, Brad couldn’t see his enemy; only another version of Moriah.

“Lord forgive me; I can’t do it,” he whispered, ending the grenade’s whine with a twist back.

He waited with lowered head, finding the silent seconds before his demise unbearable.

“Just do it,” he said brokenly.

The lower half of a grey, pin striped suit appeared in his downturned vision. By its bulk alone, he knew he faced a manog, let alone the hair covered elongated feet. Brad winced, fearing the jaws that would crush his skull with ease.

“You don’t remember me; do you?”

Brad couldn’t help raising his head. The voice sounded familiar. He studied the massive being wearing the immaculate suit for a time. In his mind’s eye, the silver flecked fur of age fell away, leaving a younger manog.

“Hunter?” he asked meekly.

“Hunter no more,” said the manog. “Cadoboras now.”

Brad looked about the room, gaping at the gathered faces.

“They’re my church,” said Cadoboras.

Brad looked at the manog, unbelieving.

“I’m a Christian now,” said Cadoboras.

He hugged Brad tightly.

“You don’t know how long we’ve searched for you.”

Both human and manog surrendered to tears as the church looked on.

One little manog girl tugged her mother’s hand.

“Mum; why are they crying?”

“They’re just brothers,” she whispered.

None dared interrupt them until they had spent their tears. When they pulled away, Brad pushed back his goggles.

“I finally get to see the face at last,” said Cadoboras. “For 40 years we could only catch a glimpse of you on the rooftops. We didn’t dare approach you because of all the weapons you carried.”

“I’m sorry.”

“Don’t be. We understand you had to protect yourself… and others. You became very frustrating to Entabaran.”

“Who’s that?”

“My brother, led the pack I was with. You took a lot of people out of the city. He didn’t like that, nor did he like it when I became a Christian. Our law says we have to kill anyone who betrays the pack. I should’ve been eaten alive. My brother instead, ordered my exile. I found men and merge mutations. Over the years, we formed a church.”

“If I could hear you from the foyer, the pack can hear you from the street,” said Brad. “They should have detected you by now.”

“I can only assume my brother led the pack away from us all these years, but that’s coming to an end very soon.”

“Why?”

“Only the strongest can lead a manog pack. My nephew is growing stronger, while my brother grows weaker. That’s why we were looking for you.”

“What do you mean?”

“You come to the city a couple of days then you disappear for weeks. You’ve got sanctuary somewhere; haven’t you; a place where you can heal and prepare before coming back here?”

Brad nodded.

Chapter 1Chapter 2Chapter 3Chapter 4Chapter 5Chapter 6Chapter 7Chapter 8Chapter 9Chapter 10

Author: mickdawson

I am a writer who never suffers from writer's block. My work is original in concept, thus telling me in both instances that God has gifted me. It is my hope that my work moves others. That those who read, might walk the lonely miles with the heroes; that they laugh and cry with them, and are also warmed by love. But there is also a greater hope. That those who read my work, see God's word in the adventures. More specifically that they find Jesus in the many pages and accept His free gift of salvation, already paid for on the cross.

Leave a Reply

