GOD INSPIRED ADVENTURE — THE WRITINGS OF MICK DAWSON

The fiction no one wanted

THE SENSATIONAL SIX – Chapter 2 part 20

Leave a comment

“A job?” said Mick. “Ok, but you can tell Lenny that I’ll find my own place.”

He offered the bottle.

“Would you like a drink? Sorry, but I don’t have any glasses.”

The stranger nodded and took a swig.

“I haven’t spoken to Lenny,” he said, handing back the bottle.

Haven’t spoken to Lenny? Are you…?

“God?” finished the stranger with a surreptitious smile. “No. He merely sent me. And as far as the job goes, you’ll be provided for.”

Mick sipped again. “If nothing else, at least I’m fed for a few days while I think it over.”

He handed the bottle back.

“You’ll take the job,” said the angel, dropping the landlord’s eviction note into the fire. “Where else are you going to go?”

Mick had to ask one inevitable question… “Do I have to work with anyone else?”

“You will lead five men which God has gifted. Through them, the Lord will use all six of you to do an extraordinary work. They are your brothers.”

Mick snorted. “If God sent you, then you’ve come to the wrong house.”

“Why do you say that?” asked the stranger without malice.

“Why?!” Mick asked incredulously. “For a start; I’ve only got one brother and he hates me.”

“They’re brothers in Christ.”

“Ok,” Mick conceded. “But God obviously wouldn’t choose the likes of me.”

“Why?” the stranger gently asked.

“Take a look around you!” Mick yelped. “I’m a bum! Everything I owned is in that fire! I’ve got no friends. I can’t hold onto a relationship or a job! I’m homeless half of the time! I rub everyone the wrong way just by breathing! Added to that, I’m a shyster that’s never done anyone any good in my life!”

He angrily thrust the bottle aside. The stranger gently took the bottle from him and swallowed again.

Mick sighed. “I’m probably the worst example of a Christian there is. The Lord uses prime examples of virtue… not worthless wrecks like me.”

He accepted the bottle back.

“Here,” said the stranger.

What looked like a thin book of papers protruded from the stranger’s hand.

“What this?” said Mick taking the book.

“It’s a plane ticket.”

“Didn’t you hear anything I just said?”

The stranger turned to walk away.

“God doesn’t make mistakes,” he said.

 ***

ForewordPrologueChapter 1Chapter 2

Author: mickdawson

I am a writer who never suffers from writer's block. My work is original in concept, thus telling me in both instances that God has gifted me. It is my hope that my work moves others. That those who read, might walk the lonely miles with the heroes; that they laugh and cry with them, and are also warmed by love. But there is also a greater hope. That those who read my work, see God's word in the adventures. More specifically that they find Jesus in the many pages and accept His free gift of salvation, already paid for on the cross.

Leave a Reply

