GOD INSPIRED ADVENTURE — THE WRITINGS OF MICK DAWSON

The fiction no one wanted

THE SENSATIONAL SIX – Chapter 4 part 21

Leave a comment

“Look,” said Mick. “What we’re sposed to do, is start with me at the front in the middle and the rest of you fan back either side.”

“We can’t do that. You need at least seven to make that work,” said Jordan.

“Thank you, Captain Pedantic,” Mick said with strained patience. “Wait a minute. I’ll kneel in the foreground. Nick stands behind me, then the rest of you can fan out.”

“That’ll work,” said Ryan.

They got into position and held the pose a few moments.

“Now what do we do?” said Jordan.

“Now,” said Mick, “we make a dramatic speech.”

He placed his hands on his hips and puffed out his chest.

“True, the Lord has used us to save the world from physical destruction, but if we were to be honest, my brothers, we will never be used in a heroic capacity again.”

“Ohh,” said Nick.

Mick screwed his face, ignoring him.

“But,” He held up his curled pinkie, “wherever children are disappointed at parties by crappy magicians, I’ll be there.”

Nick linked his pinkie with Mick’s.

“And wherever there’s food to be eaten, I’ll be there.”

Jordan joined pinkies. “And wherever good sense can be frustrated with pedanticism, I’ll be there.”

Pat linked with them. “And if there’s ever a shortage of colouring in books for the children, I’ll be there.”

Glen added his pinkie. “And if ever there’s a coupon for a $1 off on good hair care products, I’ll be there.”

Ryan hooked his pinkie last. “And wherever an American backside needs kissing, I’ll be there.”

Mick pushed all pinkies higher. “Sensational Six, unite!”

They held their arms above their heads for a time, becoming an awkward silence.

“What do we do now?” Ryan asked.

Mick pursed his lips, at a loss for words.

“I spose we just go home.”

Lowering their arms, they went their separate ways.

***

That’s all for this one. Thank you to all my readers, the likes and the comments. It might be anything up to a month away before I start the next story as I’m waiting on a friend to make a choice… Mick Dawson

ForewordPrologueChapter 1Chapter 2Chapter 3Chapter 4

Author: mickdawson

I am a writer who never suffers from writer's block. My work is original in concept, thus telling me in both instances that God has gifted me. It is my hope that my work moves others. That those who read, might walk the lonely miles with the heroes; that they laugh and cry with them, and are also warmed by love. But there is also a greater hope. That those who read my work, see God's word in the adventures. More specifically that they find Jesus in the many pages and accept His free gift of salvation, already paid for on the cross.

Leave a Reply

